Politcal Christianity?


I don’t recall a time in my life where politics and religion weren’t talked about in the same sentence.  If you are a Christian, you are a republican.  That’s the law.  I’m not sure who’s law it is, though I’m fairly certain at this point that it’s not God’s law.

Jesus is a republican.

No?  No.  I’m gonna go out on a limb and just say that.  Jesus is NOT a republican.  Neither is he a democrat or a liberal or a libertarian or a Greeny or a tea partier.   If I’m wrong, I’m wrong.  I’m not though.  That’s what’s great about being me.  I get to decide if I’m wrong or not.

Let me just state for the record,  I am a Christian AND a Conservative.   I am not a Christian Conservative.   I’m not sure how that works, but in my own mind I separate the church and state.  Many of the same issues I believe strongly in converge with the two but they are always, in my mind, separate.

Politically, I support those things that, as a Christian, I believe line up with my moral compass granted to me by the Holy Spirit.  Don’t get me wrong, my moral compass is way out of whack and I don’t ever want to pretend that I use that moral compass all the time or even most of the time.  I’m a sinner and that throws off the magnetic field of my compass quite a bit when I let it and I let it a lot.

Back to my point of how I perceive the two and also separate them. With some talking points that are generically considered republican issues.

Conservative me: I think abortion is the killing of innocent children, human life. No matter how long its been conceived for.  I would like to see our government stop sanctioning it.

Christian me: I think abortion is the killing of innocent children, human life. No matter how long its been conceived for.   Jesus Christ died on the cross for that woman or girl who walked into an abortion clinic just as much as he died for me.  Is her sin any greater than mine?

Well, I don’t know dear fella, what have you done?

I’ve done plenty in my life that were it not for the grace of God and the sacrifice of Jesus Christ, would warrant me a death sentence.  Maybe not by man’s law, but by Gods.

21 “You have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘You shall not murder,[a] and anyone who murders will be subject to judgment.’ 22 But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister[b][c] will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca,’[d] is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell.  Mathew 5:21

Yeah.  Abortion is murder.  And yeah, I’ve been plenty angry in my life and I can’t tell ya how many times I’ve called someone an idiot.   My sin is equal to hers AND the doctor who performed the abortion.  Not less. Not greater. Equal.

Conservative me:  I would like to see our borders guarded and protected from potential enemies.  I would like everyone who comes here to work and pay taxes. (Even my conservative self doesn’t want closed borders. Sorry.)

Christian Me: Jesus, our Christ with Mary and Joseph fled to Egypt, presumably illegally, where they lived for a time in a different culture and different language.  Whether they were “illegal” or not, they immigrated to find a better situation. (In their case, so Herod wouldn’t kill Christ)

Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it. Hebrews 13:2

15 We are foreigners and strangers in your sight, as were all our ancestors. Our days on earth are like a shadow, without hope. 16 LORD our God, all this abundance that we have provided for building you a temple for your Holy Name comes from your hand, and all of it belongs to you. 1 Chronicles 29:15

I am a visitor to this world as are we all, no?   Who am I to tell someone coming here from another place, “Get out, and go back where you came from! There is no room for you here!”  Yeah, would I say that to Mary and Joseph too?  Would you?

I liked and referenced this article by Russell D. Moore, who, in honesty, don’t know a lot about. Here’s a couple of paragraphs from that:

Immigration isn’t just an issue. It’s an opportunity to see that, as important as the United States of America is, there will be a day when the United States of America will no longer exist. And on that day, the sons and daughters of God will stand before the throne of a former undocumented immigrant. Some of them are migrant workers and hotel maids now. They will be kings and queens then. They are our brothers and sisters forever.

We might be natural-born Americans, but we’re all immigrants to the kingdom of God (Eph. 2:12-14). Whatever our disagreements on immigration as policy, we must not disagree on immigrants as persons. Our message to them, in every language and to every person, must be “Whosoever will may come.”

Conservative Me:  I don’t want gay and lesbian couples to be recognized by the government as normal.

Christian me:  I don’t want adultery or any kind of extra marital sex to be considered okay.  Sex outside of marriage, (marriage being between a man and a woman,) is wrong. Just as wrong as sexual relations between man and man.

27 “You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’[e] 28 But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart. 29 If your right eye causes you to stumble, gouge it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell. 30 And if your right hand causes you to stumble, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to go into hell. Matthew 5:27

I still have both my eyes in my head.  Again, I am saved by God’s grace, though I’m most assuredly an adulterer.

I don’t really have much time to finish this, and I’m afraid if I come back to it later I will have lost my train of thought, so I’ll finish up with this:

God is bigger than the United States of America.  He is bigger than Obama or Romney or any other leader or wannabe leader.   Does God care that I post patriotic signs on Facebook declaring my love of Christ and my disgust with illegal immigrants or gay rights or liberals?  And if he does care, which direction does that go?

 

I don’t know.  My question is one that has been asked before and is one I struggle with answering myself, “If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?”

I am a christian and I am a conservative but when it comes down to the nitty gritty, I want to be a christ follower more than anything else and being that,  has nothing to do with anything political or earthly, does it?

Categories: american, christianity, conservative | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Politcal Christianity?

  1. scythewieldor

    I appreciate your yse of the words of Jesus; however, it seemed it was, mostly, what I call ‘testimony’ scriptures.
    I see three kinds of testimony. History tells how things were. Prophecy tells us how things will be. Wisdom tells us how thimgs are.
    Besides testimony scriptures, there are commandment scriptures. It is the commandments of Christ that He told us to teach the nations to observe.
    There are people who don’t want to change their behavior but spend a lot of time tweaking testimony scriptures into marketable theologies.
    You, however, seem to have a grasp on the commandment to do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

  2. oaktreesandmariachi

    Hey scythewieldor. You may be right. I think my point was that we as Christians get too caught up in political vitriol and tend to make our respective parties, idols. Whereas we use our Christianity to support our political points and the two don’t always match up cohesively. Thanks for the comment.

  3. scythewieldor

    That was your well-said point. My spin was that, if people were as interested in following Christ as they were in getting supporters, they would recognize that the reason Jesus is called Lord is because He gave us commandments – law of Christ

  4. Miss Emm

    It seems like you are having a serious debate with yourself. I have those on occasion. I joke and say that sometimes I get so upset at myself over these debates, that I can practically unfriend myself. That sounds completely loony, I know.

    • oaktreesandmariachi

      Heh. Yeah, you know me M. I I have deep thoughts on a bipolar level sometimes.🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

